Twelve Bharatiya Janata Party-ruled states and Odisha on Wednesday announced a cut in the value added tax on fuel after the Centre slashed excise duty on petrol and diesel.

A day before Diwali, the Union government announced that petrol would become cheaper by Rs 5 and diesel by Rs 10 from Thursday.

BJP-ruled states followed suit and announced tax cuts on fuel. Assam, Goa, Tripura, Manipur, Karnataka and Gujarat reduced the value added tax on both petrol and diesel by Rs 7.

The Uttarakhand government also announced that petrol in the state would become cheaper by Rs 7. Uttar Pradesh has reduced the prices of petrol and diesel by Rs 12 per litre, ANI reported, quoting Chief Minister Adityanath’s office.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar in a tweet said that his government has reduced value added tax on petrol and diesel, making the fuels cheaper by Rs 12 per litre.

Bihar, which is ruled by BJP’s ally Janata Dal (United), announced that the prices of petrol would be reduced Rs 3.20 per litre and diesel by Rs 3.90 a litre.

Sikkim, which is governed by the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, announced that petrol and diesel prices have been reduced by Rs 7. The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha is a constituent of BJP-led National Democratic…

Read more

donate button
Please choose the donation payment system

Donation Information

I would like to make a donation in the amount of:


I would like this donation to repeat each month

Tribute Gift

Check here to donate in honor or memory of someone

Donor Information

Add me to your mailing list


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *