Ajinkya Rahane will lead the Indian Test team in the first Test match against world champions New Zealand while Virat Kohli joins up for the second game, the Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed on Friday.

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Mohammed Shami are among the regulars not named in the squad for the two-match series against New Zealand that starts 25 November in Kanpur. The second Test starts on December 3 and will be played in Mumbai for which Kohli will be back to lead the side.

The series is part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championships and features the two sides that took part in the inaugural edition’s final earlier this year. India have already opened their account with the series in England while this will be defending champions New Zealand first assignment of the current edition.

Rohit, who has been named the T20I captain for the three-match series preceding the Tests, is among those presumably rested. Wriddhiman Saha and KS Bharat are named as the wicketkeepers in Pant’s absence while Cheteshwar Pujara has been named Rahane’s deputy.

Shreyas Iyer could be in for a Test debut as he earns a call-up to the side…

Read more

donate button
Please choose the donation payment system

Donation Information

I would like to make a donation in the amount of:


I would like this donation to repeat each month

Tribute Gift

Check here to donate in honor or memory of someone

Donor Information

Add me to your mailing list


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *